Top 40 Favorite Anime Characters

*Note* This isn’t a list of characters that I think are the “cutest” or “best” in terms of writing or character development. These are characters that I like based on how I connect to them on an emotional level.

40. Suruga Kanbaru (神原 駿河) – Bakemonogatari

Kanbaru_profile

The only Monogatari character even worth caring for. That’s at least something.

39.  Mahoro Ando (安藤 まほろ) – Mahoromatic

Andou.Mahoro.full.54676

Love how proper and elegant she is in trying to keep the protagonist from being lewd. So charming and cute!

38. Rena Ryuuguu (竜宮 レナ) – Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Renatransparent

Yandere-bait maybe, but I can’t help but find her alluring to see in the show.

37. Ichiko Sakura (桜 市子) – Binbougami ga!

binbougami_ga____ichiko_by_lovekuja-d5em6vl

She is brash, mean, and arrogant, but I find those to be a charm factor to her character.

36. Sakura Kinomoto (木之本 さくら) – Cardcaptor Sakura

37841-sakura_kinomoto_7

Way better than Sailor Moon, there shall never be a debate about it.

35. Kraft Lawrence (クラフト・ロレンス) – Spice and Wolf

Craft-lawrence-wolf-and-spice

His wit and humanist nature are what make him and Holo a great duo to follow.

34. Dandy (ダンディ) – Space Dandy

mnbvg.,n

I’m sure with many of the lewd protags in this list, Dandy embodies my lewd personality quite accurately; albeit a bit exaggerated.

33. Lafiel Abriel (アブリアル・ネイ) – Seikai no Monshou

Pilot_Canidate_Lafiel

Her strong charismatic leadership and beauty made me watch the show from beginning to end quite easily.

32. Kino (キノ) – Kino’s Journey

500px-kinocannon1

You could say she’s the only great thing about the show. Then again it is called Kino’s Journey so maybe that’s all it has be about.

31. Kodaka Hasegawa (羽瀬川 小鷹) – Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Kodaka2

I love my harem protagonists to be calm and down to earth, Kodaka is how I envision myself to be if I were in his situation.

30. Umaru Doma (土間 うまる) – Himouto! Umaru-chan

doma_umaru_by_yasaiumai-d93ein2

An absolute hysterical character that I could watch for hours and hours and never get tired of.

29. Makoto Niwa (丹羽真) – Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

29e72954b47ab1c15c6605a0dae1927d1430375652_full

Quite possibly the most bland choice by many people, but I’ve had this strong connection to him as he sort of acts like me in real life if I were in his shoes.

28. Mikoto Urabe (卜部美琴) – Nazo no Kanojo X

nazokano604

A unique romantic interest character that was a breath of fresh air in 2012.

27. Tsukiko Tsutsukakushi (筒隠 月子) – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko.

Tsutsukakushi_tsukiko_18

Any character that Yui Ogura plays is an absolute glorious amount of cuteness but Tsukiko-chan is by far her magnum opus.

26. Ahiru Arima (有馬 あひる) – Princess Tutu

ahiru151

She is a brave girl that tries her hardest to overcome any odds and follows that up by being the cutest duck ever.

25. Azusa Azuki (小豆 梓) – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko.

azusa_azuki_colored_by_chibikun15-d835wyf

She’s an annoying tsundere sure, but she’s voiced by Kaori Ishihara so I have no complaints.

24. Sena Kashiwazaki (柏崎 星奈) – Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Sena-smile

I know many will call this me listing off girls that give me a boner, but I can’t help but love Sena-chan and all the wacky antics that she does or spews out of her mouth.

23. Siegfried Kircheis (ジークフリード・キルヒアイス) – Legend of the Galactic Heroes

kircheis

It’s not just his noticeably bright red hair, his calm demeanor and tactical thinking makes him the most down to earth character of the series and that’s what makes him pretty special.

22. Ayumu Aikawa (相川 歩) – Kore wa Zombie desu ka?

008

The anti-typical harem protagonist. Has a chip on his shoulder that isn’t afraid to face the shit he has to deal with.

21. Youto Yokodera (横寺 陽人) – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko.

3366569-8786509266-88.jp

Yuki Kaji is an absolute genius as this character. Youto is the pure definition of a fun protagonist in a harem series.

20. Rias Gremory (リアス・グレモリー) – Highschool DxD

Rias-Gremory-04

I love how Rias-senpai isn’t afraid to get naked and show off her good stuff. Strong and capable woman that no man would ever pass off on.

19. Faye Valentine (フェイ・バレンタイン) – Cowboy Bebop

Faye_Valentine

Favorite character in Cowboy Bebop. Everybody has one and Valentine pushes all the right buttons for me, literally.

18. Issei Hyoudou (兵藤一誠) – Highschool DxD

822615-issei

Issei is absolutely lovable in his perverted schemes and his larger than life persona that only someone like Yuki Kaji could pull off perfectly.

17. Chihiro Ogino (荻野 千尋)ん) – Spirited Away

Chihiro

Her bravery inspired me when I saw this as a kid. The most accurate portrayal of a kid I’ve ever seen and I love her because of it.

16. Nadia la Arwall (ナディア・ラ・アルウォール) – Nadia: Secret of Blue Water  

nadia_la_arwall_by_mirakor-d9gfqvl

I love her spunky attitude and how free spirited she is with the people around her.

15. Stocking Anarchy (ストッキング・アナーキー) + Panty Anarchy (アナーキー・パンティ) – Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt

psg01-930x523

I don’t think it’s possible to like one over the other since they’re both fantastic as a duo.

14. Rin Kaga (鹿賀 り) – Usagi Drop

UsagiDrop-01-Large08

My “girl that I would love to have as a daughter” character. Seriously, she is about as lovable and gullible as any great kid is.

13. Tomoki Sakurai (桜井智樹) – Sora no Otoshimono

qhiMo9K

A pervert we all should aspire to be. Maybe not so much how he acts since that would lead us to jail, but his ideals on lewdism should be on a lewd bible.

12. Yato (夜ト) – Noragami

yato-kami

One of the few male characters I would actually go gay for. Don’t judge, y’all fellas have at least one you’ll admit to.

11. Nozomu Itoshiki (糸色 望) – Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

Sayonara.Zetsubou.Sensei.full.1217394

The despair is real, but the laughs keep on rolling.

10. Reinhard von Lohengramm (ラインハルト・フォン・ローエングラム) – Legend of the Galactic Heroes

106111

Oh how I feel for the Yang fans who think he’s the best character in the show in how wrong they really are.

9. Mako Mankanshoku (満艦飾 マコ) – Kill La Kill

mako_mankanshoku_fight_club_spec_two_star_uniform_by_hope1134-d7b8xas

A great best friend any gal would love to have.

8. Motoko Kusanagi (草薙 素子) – Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

Motoko_Kusanagi

The 2nd sexy and badass female character in anime, in mechanical form!

7. Keima Katsuragi (桂木 桂馬) – The World God Only Knows

Katsuragi.Keima.full.584048

Favorite male character. Cynical to boot, but hilarious in all of his egotistical ramblings on 2D women.

6. Ikaros (イカロス) – Sora no Otoshimono

ikaros

A lot of people don’t really get how Ikaros-chan isn’t just big boobs and ass. Maybe I’m the only who sees it but I don’t care.

5. Ryuuko Matoi (纏 流子) – Kill La Kill

Ryuko_Matoi

I don’t care whether she is this feminist power fantasy that pseudo-intellectuals in forums love to praise, I view her solely as an individual who wants to rise above authority and a great call back to old-school anime action protagonists.

4. Revy (レヴィ) – Black Lagoon

Blue+_8df4c936a2c3992a9e0db102fa467188

The absolute best sexy and badass female character you could ever imagine. Nihilistic and unpredictable, I wouldn’t mind having her in my mercenary team.

3. Holo (ホロ) – Spice and Wolf

smiling-holo-16009

What is there simply to say about Holo-chan that hasn’t been said already? Her sarcasm and wit in her remarks to Kraft and everyone else makes her an absolute treat to watch and hopefully to see more in the future.

2. Momo Belia Deviluke (モモ・ベリア・デビルーク) – To Love Ru Darkness

15382-1922055377

I don’t care if an ecchi character is at number two. Momo-chan is smart, devious, and sexy all in one package. One that I would definitely love to have in my package~

Anime Character of All Time: Lain Iwakura (岩倉 玲音) – Serial Experiments Lain

.,kjmlnh;klhn

Lain is a caricature of me when I was very young, hence why I grew a close attachment to her in the show. Sitting in my computer in the dark looking through the world through a digital lens. I was warped back then.

2 thoughts on “Top 40 Favorite Anime Characters

Leave a Reply

