2023 Anime Retrospective (Part 1)

Better late than never, right? It should be a sign of how meh 2023 was for anime. There wasn’t anything terrible that I finished watching. However, there weren’t any surprises. I expected to like and dislike much of the anime before going into them, with a couple of exceptions. Sequels to anime that weren’t as exciting as the previous season. Uneventful would be the perfect word to describe it. So, let’s go by each one by one!

Click here for Part 2!

Am I Actually the Strongest?

I’ll admit, I did chuckle at the first few episodes. It’s not one of the bad isekai anime of 2023, but it will be forgotten as months pass.

Grade: C+

Atelier Ryza: Ever Darkness & the Secret Hideout The Animation

I’m not the biggest Atelier fan, but I admire them for their comfy atmosphere and cute art style. I was anticipating the same feelings for the anime. However, I realized, after the first three or four episodes, that the show has the same type of effect as the games do for me: They are fun the 1/3rd of the way through, but after a while, they lose their luster and get boring after a while. Not to mention, the art and animation are not very good. Not even the thicc thighs could save it.

Grade: C-


BOFURI: I Don’t Want to Get Hurt, so I’ll Max Out My Defense. Season 2

Honestly, what even was the story? It’s 2nd season, and months later, after watching, I couldn’t remember a thing…

Grade: C+

Buddy Daddies

Yet another two buddies taking care of a little girl anime. I’m all for this being a new trend. The characters are lovable and hilarious.

Grade: B+

The Demon Sword Master of Excalibur Academy

At first, I liked the fact that there wasn’t a fantasy anime as an isekai. Then I realized that bad fantasy anime pre-isekai were just as terrible. Vapid story and characters all around on this one. The art looked bright and colorful, at least.

Grade: D+

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Swordsmith Village Arc

xr:d:DAFmMSoMZ0U:6,j:1464063740649111749,t:23061823

I get that this felt like a filler season. The story isn’t as attention-grabbing as the previous seasons and the movie. The antagonists don’t feel as menacing or engaging in conflict. Nevertheless, I still thought there were some sparks that made the series exceptional. Let us hope this is not a sign of declining quality in later seasons.

Grade: B

DON’T TOY WITH ME, MISS NAGATORO 2nd Attack

Just more Nagatoro. That’s pretty much it. That’s fine by me.

Grade: B+

Dr. STONE New World

It does suffer from the sequel syndrome of not being as exhilarating as the first one. But I still love to watch the characters bicker with one another, and the world-building continues to impress.

Grade: B+

Farming Life in Another World

Shocker of the year in my book. An isekai mixed with a harem cast that isn’t bad? The chemistry between the lead and the girls is genuinely heartwarming, and each of them has a unique, likable personality. Not to mention the drop-dead gorgeous visuals and the relaxing atmosphere, which makes this an underrated gem.

Grade: A-

Girlfriend, Girlfriend Season 2

More trashy fun with cute girls. A throwback to days of watching trashy harem anime from the late 2000s.

Grade: B-

GOBLIN SLAYER II

I’m one of those people who was in the middle of the whole Goblin Slayer discourse back then. I never understood the backlash and contempt for the movie’s themes, nor did I understand the greatness of the story and characters like it was the 2nd coming of Berserk or something. I don’t know. I just find it tedious and boring, and this season further proves that point of view.

Grade: C-

Handyman Saitou in Another World

Seeing a mechanic trying to use his expertise in a fantasy world is a cool twist. Other than that, there was nothing memorable in this isekai anime.

Grade: C+

Hell’s Paradise

At first, this looked to be a great anime with amazing animation. But then it kinda fell off and became another generic Shonen show. There was still at least some entertainment value in its presentation.

Grade: B-

I’m Giving the Disgraced Noble Lady I Rescued a Crash Course in Naughtiness

It was a decent, sweet comedy, but it didn’t leave much of an impression as it went on.

Grade: C+

Insomniacs after school

I was afraid it was going to be bogged down with melodrama. But I was surprised how invested I was in the romance aspect of it. I also loved the fascination of space with the character; it almost hit home with me when I was young.

Grade: B+

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? IV Part 2

I could just copy and paste my impression of IV Part 1, but I’d like to act like I have SOME class. Also, fuck off with airing parts into the next year. Keep both within the same year, please.

Grade: A-

Kaguya-sama: Love is War -The First Kiss That Never Ends-

I could say 4 episodes isn’t long enough, but I’ll take what I can get.

Grade: A-

KONOSUBA -An Explosion on This Wonderful World!

This is for the Megumin fans. So, I can’t say I was as enthused as an Aqua simp. Not that I think Megumin is trash; she’s great, too. Keep your death threats to yourselves.

Grade: B

Kubo Won’t Let Me Be Invisible

Screenshot

This anime made me realize how much I missed seeing Kana Hanazawa in lead roles. I don’t care if people got sick of her for almost 10 years. She was put there for a reason.

Grade: B+

Masamune-kun’s Revenge R

Almost similar to Girlfriend, Girlfriend in how trashy and dumb it is. The characters are still fun to watch despite how dumb the story goes. I still can’t believe that the last season was half a decade old.

Grade: C+

MASHLE: MAGIC AND MUSCLES

Cheesy shonen fun. It doesn’t try to do anything deep or new in a good way. I found the comedic gags hilarious for the most part.

Grade: B

Mushoku Tensei: Jobless Reincarnation Season 2

I was honestly kind of bored halfway through. At least the first one had some memorable moments, but this one didn’t as much. It’s not bad, but compared to the first, it’s a bit of a disappointment.

Grade: C+

My Happy Marriage

Absolute melodramatic garbage romance. The beautiful visuals do save it, but it’s so vomit-inducing how overwrought the love story feels.

Grade: C-

My Life as Inukai-san’s Dog

It was not nearly as disgusting as people said, but it was too boring and tedious to elicit any emotion.

Grade: D+

My Love Story with Yamada-kun at Lv999

I found the couple to be very cute and wholesome. That’s what you really need in a Rom-Com anime. If you don’t, you’ve already failed.

Grade: B

My Tiny Senpai

It’s definitely an anime you watch for the cuteness and ecchi aspects. For the most part, it succeeds in them, but nothing super special from the other anime of its caliber.

Grade: B-

NieR:Automata Ver1.1a

As a fan of the game, it’s basically a straight-up adaptation of the game. So I applaud that it is more faithful than most adaptations, but there’s nothing else to it besides having pretty good animation. But Nier’s story, I think, works better from a video game and not a straight-up anime format.

Grade: B

1 thought on “2023 Anime Retrospective (Part 1)

Leave a comment