2023 Anime Retrospective (Part 2)

PART 2!!

ONIMAI: I’m Now Your Sister!

Easily the best “trash” anime of the year. The animation is way too amazing for its own good. I’m glad it was taken seriously in that department. It’s wacky and dumb in the best way possible.

Grade: B+

Oshi No Ko

I’m unsure whether this is a great critique of idol culture. I’m just not a fan of anime stories involving the reincarnation of a character into another body and that body having memories of its previous life. I find it pointless. The show has entertaining aspects, and some dramatic moments work. But in between, there isn’t much to the characters’ personalities that could get me invested.

Grade: B-

Ranking of Kings: The Treasure Chest of Courage

Just a pointless spin-off for fans to clamor over until the next season comes around. It’s decent for what it is, but I don’t see myself watching it again.

Grade: B-

Saint Cecilia & Pastor Lawrence

This was an adorable, charming anime. Kind of reminds me of Umaru-chan, where the female protagonist acts completely differently when she is not out in public, and the male protagonist has to deal with her antics. It has a soothing atmosphere that you can watch and heal yourself whenever you are down.
Grade: B+

Skip and Loafer

A wholesome slice-of-life anime that succeeds in what it’s trying to do: It reminds you of real life and provides comfort and laughs. It isn’t boring like many slice-of-life anime as of late have been.

Grade: B+

SPY x FAMILY Season 2

Again, another anime sequel that, while not bad in any way, doesn’t have the same impact as the previous season. Not much in the way of plot development. Just the characters going through life and occasional development happens. It isn’t boring to watch, however. So, I can’t complain too much about that.

Grade: B+

Tengoku Daimakyo

This type of story has been done to death. However, this one at least has characters you can relate to and root for. Plus, there are certain aspects of the story they put in to make it unique enough to stand on its own. They treat the audience’s intelligence respectfully; I appreciate that in a writer.

Grade: B+

TenPuru

I did like it for what it was: A throwback to the ecchi/harem anime of the 2000s, ala Love Hina. While not all of the comedy bits succeeded, there was at least enough for me to enjoy. It doesn’t do anything new to the genre, but it’s fine for a quick 12 episode viewing.

Grade: B-

The 100 Girlfriends Who Really, Really, Really, Really, REALLY Love You

I was expecting another ecchi romance-type anime. While I was disappointed at first that it wasn’t, it was surprisingly delightful in its comedy without the need for too many pervy jokes.
Grade: B+

The Angel Next Door Spoils Me Rotten

I wasn’t really impressed by this one, to be honest. It’s very cute, but I wasn’t grabbed by the relationship and how it progressed by the halfway point.

Grade: C+

The Boy and the Heron

If Miyazaki didn’t make another film after this, this was the best way he could go out on. Easily his best since Spirited Away, and that’s saying something to me. It has the same childlike wonder and escapism that he is known for since Totoro.

Grade: A-

The Café Terrace and Its Goddesses

A maid cafe harem anime. What else is there to say about it? It’s fun and cute, but you probably won’t remember much about it after a few weeks.

Grade: B-

The Dangers in My Heart

From reading the synopsis, I was expecting something super edgy and cringe. I was surprised to see that it wasn’t. In fact, it’s a very wholesome story that is actually relatable for those of us who were/are angsty teenagers.

Grade: B+

The Demon Sword Master of Excalibur Academy

It wasn’t even terrible; it was just completely worthless and incoherent in its storytelling.

Grade: D+

The Devil is a Part-Timer! Season 2 Part 2

Okay, I think this is me tapping me out. Now it’s completely boring with even worse art and animation.

Grade: C

The Duke of Death and His Maid Season 2

I just love watching these two interact with each other. Are there even other characters in this anime to care about? I don’t care. Please more.

Grade: B

The Girl I Like Forgot Her Glasses

This show is carried purely by the cute girl and the visuals. As a near-sighted person, we are not blind as this show suggests. I feel offended.

Grade: B-

The Great Cleric

Fucking snoozefest. That’s all I can say

Grade: C

The Ice Guy and His Cool Female Colleague

Another big snoozefest.

Grade: D+

The Masterful Cat is Depressed Again Today

Very strange but funny abstract anime.

Grade: B

The Reincarnation of the Strongest Exorcist in Another World

The most forgettable isekai of the year.

Grade: C-

Tomo-chan Is a Girl!

This was extremely adorable to watch. I love it when tomboy girls are front and center in an anime. Tomo-chan and Junichi both have exceptional chemistry together. But the other characters are also very memorable and add great comedic moments.

Grade: A-

TONIKAWA: Over The Moon For You Season 2

About as good as the 1st season, but I never thought the anime was as great or delightful as many did.

Grade: B-

Undead Murder Farce

The chemistry between the main characters is what saves this, frankly, a forgettable attempt at a mystery story.
Grade: B-

Vinland Saga Season 2

Less action than the first season, but that does not hold this season back. It still has the great character development and story that made the first season stand out among the rest that year.

Grade: A-

Zom 100: Bucket List of the Dead

A zombie anime with a very intriguing premise. The creative art style and animation are what really drew my attention to it. Almost like if Trigger made Highschool of the Dead.

Grade: B+

1 thought on “2023 Anime Retrospective (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: 2023 Anime Retrospective (Part 1) | Gonzo's Anime Love Shack

Leave a comment